Ministerpräsident Winfried Kretschmann sitzt in der Bibliothek der Villa Reitzenstein in Stuttgart.

Winfried Kretschmann – the man at the head of the State Government

Winfried Kretschmann is the ninth Minister-President of Baden-Württemberg. He was elected for the third time as the Head of Government by the State Parliament on May 12, 2021. Kretschmann heads a coalition made up of two parliamentary parties: The Green Party and the Christian Democratic Union. The authority vested in the Minister-President by the State Constitution is outstanding: He is responsible for determining the guidelines of State policy, he chairs the Government and directs its business.

  • Biography

Winfried Kretschmann

Winfried Kretschmann cultivates a new style of politics based on frankness and participation. As Minister-President, he has set himself the target of modernizing Baden-Württemberg in both ecological and social terms.

  • Minister-President

Position and responsibilities

The Minister-President holds an outstanding position within the political system of Baden-Württemberg, vested in him by the State constitution. He determines the guidelines of State policy, directs the business of the State Government and acts as representative of the State to the outside.

Gallery of the Minister-Presidents of Baden-Württemberg
  • Predecessors in office

Minister-Presidents since 1952

Since the formation of the Southwest State in 1952, there have been nine Minister Presidents at the head of the State of Baden-Württemberg. This timeline presents our successive Heads of Government, from Reinhold Maier to Winfried Kretschmann.