Predecessors in office

Minister-Presidents since 1952

Entrance facade of the Villa Reitzenstein in Stuttgart, official seat of the Minister-President.

Since the formation of the Southwest State in 1952, there have been nine Minister Presidents at the head of the State of Baden-Württemberg. This timeline presents our successive Heads of Government, from Reinhold Maier to Winfried Kretschmann.

Reinhold Maier (Bild: Landesmedienzentrum Baden-Württemberg)
Reinhold Maier (Bild: Landesmedienzentrum Baden-Württemberg)

: Reinhold Maier

Minister-President of Baden-Württemberg

1952 - 1953

Ministerpräsident Winfried Kretschmann sitzt in der Bibliothek der Villa Reitzenstein in Stuttgart.
  • Head of Government

Minister-President Winfried Kretschmann

Winfried Kretschmann is the ninth Minister President of Baden-Württemberg. He was re-elected as the Head of Government by the State Parliament on May 12, 2021. Kretschmann heads a coalition made up of two parliamentary parties: The Green Party and the CDU.

Das Staatsministerium in der Villa Reitzenstein (Parkansicht)

Contact : State Ministry