• Gebäude des Bundesrates von außen (Bild: Bundesrat)

    A force within the Federation

    Baden-Württemberg also carries weight in national affairs.


Baden-Württemberg in Berlin

The Federal Republic of Germany is a Federation. State functions are divided between the Federation and its 16 federal states. The federal states each have their own parliament and government, their own authorities, courts and their own state constitutions. Through the organ of the Bundesrat (Federal Council), the states play a role in national legislation and administration, and also in the affairs of the European Union

Deutscher Bundesrat