

Ministry of Science, Research and Arts Baden-Württemberg

DFPARTMENT

Responsibilites and organisation



The Ministry of Science, Research and Arts represents key areas of Baden-Württemberg's state policy. As the state's highest authority, its responsibilities extend to all of the state's universities, most of the non-university research institutions, the academic libraries as well as archives and important art institutions in Baden-Württemberg.

Currently, there are more than 70 state and private universities in Baden-Württemberg. Alongside the universities, about 100 research institutions are located in the state, including 12 research institutions of the Max-Planck-Society, 20 facilities of the Fraunhofer-Society, 7 institutions of the Leibniz-Society, 2 major research centers of the Helmholtz Association and 3 sites of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt). The Ministry of Science, Research and Arts is involved in funding most of this infrastructure either institutionally or through projects.

Renowned Baden-Württemberg art and cultural institutions under the Ministry's jurisdiction include the state theaters in Stuttgart and Karlsruhe, the natural history museums in Karlsruhe and Stuttgart, the Württemberg and Baden State Museums, the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart (State Gallery of Art), the Center for Art and Media (ZKM) in Karlsruhe and the museum Haus der Geschichte Baden-Württemberg (House

of History) in Stuttgart. The Württemberg and Baden State Libraries and the Baden-Württemberg State Archives are also of outstanding importance.

All of these institutions make up Baden-Württemberg's rich landscape of science and culture. The Ministry of Science, Research and Arts supports the work of these institutions and contributes to their funding. It promotes innovations, initiates reforms and thereby shapes part of Baden-Württemberg's future.

Organization

The Ministry of Science, Research and Arts is a state authority with about 350 employees. In terms of organization, it is divided into five departments with a total of 24 divisions.

The Ministry is headed by the Minister, Petra Olschowski, and the State Secretary, Arne Braun. In his capacity as head of the Ministry, the Ministerial Director, Dr. Hans Reiter, is the Minister's general deputy.

Link dieser Seite:

https://mwk.baden-wuerttemberg.de/en/the-ministry/responsibilities-and-organisation